Canning coming to a close

Raining. We went from 80 degrees F to rain. I’m guessing it is snowing in the high country. The cool weather is a blessing but does make it difficult to harvest. I still have tomatoes in spite of the blight and blossom-end rot I’ve got a good crop this year. I still have onions and even some zucchini still hanging on. The plums are ready too. I think that will be this weekend’s project. Plum things along with some more tomato sauce.

My mom is joining us this weekend so I’ll have some help canning. Canning is actually fun when you have help. When you don’t have help it can get to be just another chore.

I have wonderful memories of being in my grandmother’s kitchen with my fingers buried in the tomatoes peeling them. I still remember that smell and the burning of my fingers. Mom and Grandma were busy slicing tomatoes, onions, jalepenos, and cilantro for salsa. Mmmmm… Those smells and sounds are some of my favorite things about my grandma. I hope by canning in my home, especially when my mom joins me, I’ll be imparting similar pleasant memories in my children.

One last little bit of garden news. My ducks seem to have flown south. They up and disappeared one morning. They’d been getting out and I was going to clip their wings. Of course right before I had planned to do it… They flew away. I hope they are happy and healthy. I am a bit bummed since I was kinda planning to have roast duck for Christmas. Maybe they heard me thinking.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

