Summer progress

Wow. It is already mid-August.  I have no idea when that happened.  This summer is flying by.  I’ve pulled pea plants and re-planted.  This is something new for me this year.  I haven’t tried before so we’ll see if I get them to grow enough to get a second harvest before my first frost.  My garlic is harvested.  That is very satisfying to see that hanging in the kitchen.  Now I just need to order some to plant this fall for next year’s harvest.

Let’s see, what else?  I harvested green beans yesterday and need to blanch and freeze them today.  I don’t have a pressure canner so I can’t can the low-acid foods.  A water-bath just doesn’t get things hot enough to safely process the low-acid items.  Bummer, but I haven’t brought myself to clean up and test my really old pressure canner or suck it up and buy a new one.  They are not cheap.  So I freeze my green beans, peas, and carrots.

A note on my slug issue: I’m getting ducklings.  Well, I had ducklings last week but we had some issues with a 3-year-old getting ahold of them and them getting out so I’m replacing them with a bit older ducklings today.  They had better eat my slugs before my slugs get the rest of my harvest.

It looks like this year is going to be a good tomato year.  We had a late, wet spring and then it got hot.  I have some cherry tomatoes that have been ripe and the paste tomatoes along with the Beefsteaks and Brandywine are going strong.  I’m afraid things are just going to get even busier on weekends here shortly.  It is looking like most of my writing will come this winter during the garden planning stage.

I’d better go out and finish up getting the duckling area fixed up while my little one is resting.  Maybe I’ll be able to get a few things done.  Only maybe.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

