Speed of Summer

Where has summer gone?  My goodness time does fly.  I’ve been drying herbs like crazy while waiting for things like my tomatoes to get going.  The onions are doing beautifully as are the slugs.  That is my main mission this weekend.  Get the slug killer out and sprinkled.  I don’t have time to manage beer traps and I have so many slugs pulling by hand barely makes a dent.  Besides the little buggers are hard to squish.  Too slimy.  They slip through my fingers.

I’m excited to be trying a second round of peas this year.  I’ll be picking the last ones and pulling plants today.  Then I’ll plant new seeds and see what happens.  I don’t know if I really have enough time before the first frost but I might.

I’m waiting on my radishes to dry out so I can collect seed there.  My carrots I should be able to start pulling and I might have to put another round of carrots in.  For some odd reason this year I seem to have a lot more room than last year.  I did add a bit of real estate that got planted and I don’t think I planted quite as much this year.  Funny how a couple of little ones will do that to you.

Garlic does well in the garden.  Although I’m going to have to get some hardneck garlic so we can have scapes next year.  I bought some scapes at one of the farmer’s markets around here and roasted them. Yummy.  I only have softneck garlic so far so they don’t make scapes. This fall will have to be busy getting the garlic in for next year.

I’ve gotten some perennial herbs for the borders of my garden.  I’m hoping this will cut down on the invasion of the yard (grass) and the weeds.  We also had to replace our lawn mower this year so we got one with a bag.  This means grass clippings to mulch the garden with.  It seems to have cut down on the weeds but upped the number of slugs.  Hmmmm…

Well, let’s see… I think the next installment here will have to be something with the harvesting and storing of veggies.  My tomatoes are there but not turning yet.  Potato plants have been decimated by slugs, but hopefully the taters are okay.  I’m hoping to get lots of tomatoes  so I can make lots of sauce.

For now it is time to take care of some weeds and peas.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

