Rain

We have had so much rain this last week. We’ve had anywhere from .1 inches to .5 inches of precipitation per day for the last 3 days at least.  At least that’s what the weather service’s official record is.  I would have to say it feels like more.  I think everything needs wrung out.  That is what I feel like when it rains this much.

I know my garden is happy with the moisture but it sure could use some sunshine too.  It does look like we might get a little today.  Of course I can’t keep up with the weeds with all this rain.  I’ve been pulling the grass and using it for mulch in between rows to cut down on the weeds but I haven’t even made a dent in them yet.  Of course I have to remember the main portion of my garden this year is new.  It was mostly still compost and grass on that side last year.

It seems to create more weeds the first year or so the way I do things, but then they aren’t so bad.  The area that has been planted for the last 2 years has hardly any weeds at all this year.  I have my tomatoes and onions in these areas.

Oh! Good news.  I’ve gotten radishes from the garden and turnip greens.  The other night I made BBQ elk steaks, turnip greens and mashed potatoes.  Mom had brought up some elk steaks when she came to visit and my husband had been craving BBQ so… I’d never made greens before.  I just Googled turnip green recipes.  Amazing what the modern life can do.  I used a Southern style recipe for the greens and modified it to our liking.  In other words I left anything out that would make it spicy.  I’m a spicy wimp.  That and I almost never use a recipe exactly.  I always seem to modify a bit.  Drives my husband crazy.  He likes instructions.

So here is my basic way to do Turnip Greens:

Fry up some bacon– I stole some of the grease for my bbq sauce but you could use it all

Once the bacon is crispy add about a 1/4 cup of vinegar, a sprinkle of sugar, and a little water along with the cleaned greens.  Note: I didn’t really clean or chop mine so I had to do this when they were in the pan.  Would have been much easier had I done it before cooking them.  Just cut the large stems off and chop up the rest. 

Simmer everything together for about 30-45 minutes until the greens are tender.  You can serve with malt vinegar, but by adding the vinegar in the cooking process they don’t need it.  Oh! And don’t forget an onion like I just did.  Chop an onion up finely and fry it up with the bacon before you add everything else.

My BBQ sauce: (again no true measurements because I make to taste and what I have available)

Brown sugar

Vinegar

Mustard (sometimes)

Ketchup or tomato sauce or paste (whatever is in the pantry)

Worcester Sauce

Spices (These vary. Paprika is main and then I branch out from there.  Just depends on my mood. You can use garlic, dry mustard, Spike, Mrs. Dash, pepper, or ??? The choices are endless)

And this last time I used a bit of bacon grease from making my greens. I don’t normally but both ways are good.

Mix all this up in a bowl and soak the meat in it.  You can baste the meat with it too if you’re in a hurry like I was this round.  A low slow cook to the meat would be best but this works to throw together in about a half an hour 45 minutes too.

I think since the sun is starting to peek through my windows and my coffee is cold I should probably get dressed for real (no sweat pants today) and get ready for a trip to the “big” city.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family, Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

