Thinking about food

I’ve been thinking about food.  Food in relation to our gardens and our health.  It seems folks either have too much food or not enough food.  It seems as though here in the U.S.A. large agribusiness has been the main focus for so long most folks in my generation, and the upcoming ones, know nothing but the big business idea of getting food.

If you ask most people where their food comes from they’ll say the grocery store.  But do most people know where the grocery store gets their food?  Now, there are all sorts of issues here.  There are many political issues regarding where our food is from, how to prevent any diseases, who gets what taxes, and how to track any and all of it back to where ever it might have been from.  And as a product of the last thirty years or so I find it hard to really worry about it all.  I think they are all issues worth worrying about but I simply cannot worry about that on top of the rest of what I have to worry about.

But, back to the main topic.  I do like to know where my food comes from.  Not because of the political issues but because of health issues.  I like to know that some stranger isn’t messing with my tomatoes or my cilantro.  I think our country would do well to find out where some of its food comes from.  I really don’t have any sound ideas as to why this would help us just yet, but it bothers me that so many people don’t think about where their food is from.  Let alone all it took to get the food there.

Something as simple as a tomato can be from all sorts of places these days.  Just the process to get the tomato to the store seems crazy to me when most people could have a tomato plant in a container.  Would we have tomatoes all year-long this way?  Not where I live.  Maybe we should eat more seasonally anyway.  Isn’t this how we were built?  Weren’t we a hunter-gatherer society once upon a time?

Funny where thinking about food will take you.  Originally I thought a post about food would take me in the direction of a kitchen garden.  Maybe it will someday.  Just not tonight. 

That thought is making me realize how dis-jointed my thoughts on this are.  Certainly a topic I will have to continue at some point.  Tonight I will have to get some sleep. But know that I have been brainstorming ideas and topics for this blog all week.  I’m excited for the weekend to get here so I can spend some of it writing.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

