Busy Weekend

Whew. Back at work today to recover from the weekend.  Our garage sale was a success in spite of crummy weather and very little advertising.  Goes to show how much location helps.  I guess the old adage of, “location, location, location” is really true.  We are on a main intersection where everyone can see us when they go to the post office.  I didn’t advertise very much.  A couple of ads on craigslist.com and a sign at a couple of bulletin boards in town.  The only thing that was much work was the set up and tear down.  I did set things up trying to display them nicely.

So, back to the garden…

I managed to get the cucumbers and broccoli in finally.  I still have tomatoes to put in but work keeps getting in the way.  I got some weeding done yesterday too.  Ugh! I hate weeding.  I suppose it is because I always wait until they have just about taken over.  I’m trying to figure out what kind of vegetable or herbs I can plant that will crowd out the weeds.  I think I might have to try scattering lettuce throughout the garden.  As soon as I can get into a store with herbs I want to edge my garden with thyme, parsley, and basil.  And just a word of caution: I’m discovering Dill Weed is aptly named.  I planted it in one section of my garden last year and it is coming up all over this year.  At least that weed is one that is edible.

My flowers are in full bloom. Well, rather my husband’s flower bed is in full bloom.  For today I’ll leave you with a couple of pictures of the flower beds and the crazy, big, wonderful, old lilacs we have out front.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

