Full blown spring

It is official.  Spring is here and our frost-free days are increasing.  I actually have my larger tomato plants in the garden without protection.  I put them out earlier this week and they have been doing very well.  Now if I can get my little guys in and the slugs away from them. 

Boy, I hate slugs!  They are munching on my turnip greens that are a couple of inches up.  The only thing I haven’t seen them bother is the pea row.  I’ve put the slug killer around a couple of the rows and around each tomato plant.  Let’s hope that does the trick to at least bring the numbers down a bit.

My lilacs are in bloom! Also the plum and apple trees are blooming.  So pretty this time of year.

I’m hoping this weekend to get my cucumbers and broccoli plants into the garden.  That is if I can ever get the kids to nap long enough. My two-year old loves to “help” in the garden. This can be difficult at times but it sure teaches one patience.  My tip for anyone with a kid that likes being in the garden is to let the kid have their own spot of garden.  My son has his own little raised bed in one corner of the yard.  Ours happened by accident but it works really well.  He can plant things in there and I don’t worry if it comes up or not.  It will be a bonus if it does but won’t do any damage to my garden if it doesn’t.

In addition to keeping him out of my hair while in my garden this helps teach him about where his food comes from, gets him outside, and keeps him moving.  All good things.  I keep hearing about how few fruits and vegetables most kids get so that makes me push having a garden even harder.  Even if all you can grow is one tomato plant in a pot in a window it helps.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

