My version of companion planting

There are lots of books out there regarding companion planting. I will disclose this now: I have not read them.  I have read blurbs about them and I’ve read some articles regarding companion planting, but a whole book? No.  I get bored with it.  I do companion plant though.  I have no idea if I follow what a person is supposed to do when using a companion planting method.

So here is how I do it:  If I think the slugs in my garden will eat it I try to plant something with it that I think they might leave alone.  If something needs a little sun protection late in the day and/or summer then I’ll plant something that will get taller and provide some shade. 

What I have done this year:  I put carrots and leeks in one row, another row has lettuce and leeks, yet another has radishes and carrots, and the lettuce row has bush beans planted just to the south of them.  Now I know carrots and radishes are a good combo.  The radishes mature well before the carrots and as you harvest the radishes they make some room for the carrots.  Also, when the radishes get pulled they help loosen soil around the carrots.  This is always a good thing in my clay.

There is the famous three sisters combo of squash, corn, and beans.  My problem is that I don’t really like growing corn or squash other than zucchini.  If our family won’t eat it I don’t plant it when it comes to the veggies.  There really is no point in wasting my resources on something I can’t use.

Anyone have any combinations they have found to work well?  I’m hoping my garlic near the tomatoes will help keep any bugs away.  We will find out.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

