How we are saving money on diapers

It is kinda funny. I have now had at least 3 of my neighbors stop by and say something about my cloth diapers hanging to dry on my clothesline.  I guess where I live nobody uses cloth diapers much.  Well, I guess that is everywhere for the most part. 

I know it seems like a big debate on all the online mom sites and in all the parenting magazines.  Cloth vs. disposable diapers.  For us it just wasn’t a big issue.  With my eldest we mostly used disposable.  We had some cloth diapers at the house in case we ran out of disposables, but we never really used them much.  Now with our little one we have gone almost all cloth.

The largest factor for us (Well me, I don’t think my husband really cares one way or the other even though he changes lots of diapers.) was the cost factor.  I just can’t believe the amount of money spent on diapers.  It can be as little as around $5/package or as much as $40/package depending on the size of diaper, brand, and the size of the package.  One package isn’t a big deal but when you are supplying two kids with diapers and one is a newborn going through what feels like a million diapers in one week the cost adds up quickly.

Well, this meant I started looking a lot harder at cloth diapers.  Do I like washing poopy things? No. Do I have to deal with the poop anyway? Yep.  Can I make some of my own diapers using material I already have? Yep.  These were just a few of the questions I had before my second was born.  So we went with cloth most of the time.  It is still a mix.  I won’t make a babysitter deal with cloth diapers and when we travel we use disposable.  It just isn’t any fun to pack dirty laundry of any kind around.  Let alone a poop filled diaper. 

And, I hold in reserve the ability to switch to disposable once solid food is in the picture. Newborn, breastfed baby poop just isn’t that smelly or gross. What it all boils down to is that for now cloth at home works well to save us some money on diapering our second kid.  I even kinda like doing the laundry.  Never thought I would say that but there is something satisfying about getting them nice and white again.  This sure wouldn’t be the ideal choice if you had no laundry or water issues.  One could do it but I don’t imagine it would be an enjoyable experience.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

