Time to plant in zone 5

The time is here.  It has stopped snowing for the most part, the garden is tilled, and now I just need to get my lay out and some plants.  I started a few tomatoes this year, but I’m thinking I will go with some purchased starts this year.  Normally to save money I do all my own starts.  A package of seeds for about $1 as compared to $3.99 and up per plant makes a big difference in the garden budget.  Seeds can run up into the $3-5 per packet too but is still cost-effective since you can get about 20-30 plants from a seed packet.  Depending on the size of your garden one packet of seeds can last a couple of years.  Talk about cost-effective.

My onion starts are here.  They came in the mail yesterday.  A large seed company was having a sale so I got some plants from them.  I think I’ll start providing some links to seed companies I have used.  I get a ton of catalogs from all sorts of folks so I seem to change each year and some years I don’t order from anyone.  I also try to use local sources.  If nothing else it helps to keep a small business going.  My suggestion here is to use local as much as possible but when there is a particular variety you would like, use a seed catalog for the ones that are harder to get a hold of.  The only time I can see it really being of consequence where you get your seeds is if you have strong feelings about keeping things organic and non-GMO.

Just a quick word on organic and non-GMO: I don’t go nuts with this but do try to lean this way.  I don’t mind using non-organic because once it gets to me I use mostly organic methods in my garden.  Also, some things just aren’t available in my area so I go with what I can get and modify to my needs.  I try to not put anything on my garden so it ends up basically being organic.  Although, at the same time I’m not above using something to get rid of the slugs I have. 

Let me digress to slugs just so I can vent.  I have tons of little slugs that eat my plants.  I’ve tried beer traps.  Small containers filled with beer that attracts the slugs and then they fall in.  I’ve tried collecting them and dumping them in soapy water.  These methods work to a certain extent, but I have way more slugs than that.  And I’m lazy about this stuff so I don’t replace the beer everyday like I should. So, this is where I’ve gone non-organic.  I got some slug killer on clearance last year at the end of the season.  I’m determined to get rid of these buggers.

Okay, back to planting… I have onion sets coming out of my ears.  I’d forgotten I’d gotten some on sale and my two-year old brought me a bunch of them from the grocery store.  I need to get out there today.  As soon as nap time hits I’ll head outside.  Until then I’m in here trying to figure out just what we’ll eat as a family.  More on that later.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

