Planting season

It is a bit early for me to be planting.  That is according to the most information published.  What isn’t taken into consideration is my micro-climate around my place and in my garden.  I have peas starting to poke their heads up and my daffodils are about done blooming.  I usually figure that about the time my tulips bloom I should have the bulk of my vegetables in.

I still don’t put my tomatoes or any peppers in until a bit later.  Especially considering we’ve had snow all week.  It hasn’t been sticking around but it has been cold.  I noticed that some of my early greens I had started in a cold frame got nipped a bit by the freezing temps.  Ah well.

I’ve been working on mulching my shrubs and perennial beds today since the sun came out for a while.  The mulch makes it so a person doesn’t have to push the lawn mower under the shrubs and makes weeding much less of a chore.  The less weeding I have to do the better.  I should get out and weed the veggie garden, but I think I may just mulch over them.  I’m hoping tomorrow will be nice so I can do a bit of planting.  I have some potatoes and onion sets that need to go in. 

The potatoes are some leftover that started to sprout before we got them eaten.  The onions are leftover from last year.  I don’t think I ever buy seed potatoes.  There are all sorts of recommendations against using supermarket  potatoes because of the treatments they can have to prevent them from sprouting.  I’ve never run across potatoes that won’t sprout.  My trouble is just the opposite.  I can’t seem to get potatoes to keep for any amount of time.

The family is paging so I guess I’ll get back to those duties instead of playing on here.

The short version of how to grow potatoes: Dig a hole about 6 inches (the depth of most basic shovels) deep and put a potato in. Cover it up and let it grow.  After the plant has flowered you can dig up your potatoes.  Leave them in the ground longer if you want them big and/or you can store them this way for the winter.  Even in pretty harsh (down to at least zone 3) winters potatoes will keep through the winter if left in the ground.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

